What are dust mites?

Dust mites need to rely on moisture and suitable temperature to sustain their life, when room temperature reaches 25 degrees, humidity of 55% - 75% of the time, is the best breeding ground for dust mites.

The enzymes in dust mite feces contain extremely high allergens,
it can dissolve proteins in the skin layer or the surface layer of the mucous membrane of the human body and penetrate the mucous membrane or skin to cause sensitivity.

Dust mites are microorganisms belong to arthropod, volume diameter of about 0.02 mm, invisible to the unaided eye. Although it is a close relative of spiders, it is unrelated to any kind of insects; therefore, pesticides have no effect on them.

temperature > 25 ℃

humidity of
55%-75%

The enzymes in dust mite feces contain extremely high allergens

Education Video About Dust Mite:

Media


The effect of dust mite paste with food as bait is questionable. Expert: The pinhole diameter of bedding products less than 10 microns can block dust mite allergens

Real Video


Dust mite magnification

Animated Clip


What is dust mite?

How to reduce dust mite allergens?

In order to effectively reduce dust mite allergens, you must firstly reduce the live dust mites and their fecal particles and avoid contact with these dust mite allergens. Because dust mites strive in warm and high humidity environments, so reducing the indoor humidity below 50 % to effectively control dust mites .

Dust mite cover


Dust mite cover is an effective way to reduce the exposure to allergens.

Because house dust mites mainly live in places such as bedding, pillows, bedsheets, carpets, fur dolls and sofa, the use of microfiber anti-dust mite covers can help reduce the exposure of patients to dust mites. The dust mite allergen (dust mite feces) has a volume diameter of about 7 µm (0.007 mm). In other words, the pinhole diameter of the material selected by MITE PROTEX is 5 µm (micron), which can effectively block dust mite allergens.

As a reminder, not all dust mite covers are equally effective. It is recommended to buy some anti-mite products that have clinical trials and academic studies. Clean dust mite beddings approximately every 4 weeks.


For some items that cannot treated by heat

Such as furry dolls, can be frozen, meaning store them in refrigerator (freezer) at minus Celsius for 24 hours. The dust mites can be frozen to death, and then the body of the dust mites and their feces can be washed away with water as those are water soluble.

Feather pillow

Many people have mistaken that feather pillows are more susceptible to mite sensitivity. Studies have shown that pillows made from latex or other materials are 5-8 times more sensitive than feather pillows and down blankets. Feather pillows tend to have higher quality outer layer which increase the blockage of allergens.

Educational video of setting up anti-mite room


Carpet

-Carpets are ideal places for dust mites to infest.


Carpets are ideal places for dust mites to infest. When the humidity at home is high, dust mites in carpets can pose a serious problem. There are several chemical materials in the market that claim to be able to eliminate dust mites, but so far, none are proven nor able to effectively reduce carpet dust mites. It is recommended to remove carpets for people who are allergic to dust mites.


Vacuum Cleaner


Vacuum cleaners are commonly used at home and workplaces. It is recommended to use a vacuum cleaner with high quality filter. Since the pore size of ordinary filter is larger than 10 µm (0.01mm), the dust mite and feces (0.007mm) can pass through which cause these allergens to return in the air. High quality filter which can filter particles below 1µm (0.001 mm) can effectively block and trap these allergens.


Dust mite desensitization therapy


Desensitization treatment has significant efficacy towards the following allergic conditions:

  • Allergic rhinitis

  • Allergic asthma

  • Allergic conjunctivitis (eye sensitive)

Desensitization treatment also improves the following allergic condition:

  • Allergic dermatitis


More and more researches indicate that early desensitization treatment can reduce the chance of asthma in children. Desensitization treatment is also effective for patient with eczema and recurrent otitis media. Some children with atopic dermatitis who did not receive treatment may lead to allergic asthma in the future.

There is a specific concentration of allergens in sublingual immune therapy which helps patients to gradually establish immunity. After a period of immunotherapy, patients ’allergic reaction will be greatly reduced. In other countries, especially in Europe, sublingual immunotherapy is becoming more common. More than 50 placebo controlled clinical studies have been published in medical journals.

The sublingual immunotherapy only requires an intake of desensitization solution once a day. Patients can take the medication at home without visiting their physicians.

什么是尘蟎?

尘蟎是需要依靠吸收空气内的水份来维持生命,因此,湿度与气温对尘蟎滋生可谓非常重要,当室内温度达25度,湿度达55%-75%时,是尘蟎滋生的最佳环境,在这情况下,尘蟎由卵到成年期约15日。

尘蟎粪便内的酵素含有极高致敏原,
可溶解人体皮肤层或黏膜表层的蛋白质,渗透入黏膜或皮肤内导致敏感。

尘蟎是扁虱类的生物,体积直径约0.02 mm,肉眼看不到的,跟蜘蛛有亲戚关系,但与昆虫无关,所以杀虫水对尘蟎是不能产生效用的。

温度 > 25度

湿度达
55%-75%

尘蟎粪便内酵素含有极高致敏原

关于尘蟎的教育视频:

媒体报导


【湿疹】尘蟎贴用食物做饵效果存疑 专家:床品缝隙小于10微米可阻隔致敏原

真实视频


尘蟎真实面貌

动画视频


说明什么是尘蟎

如何减少尘蟎致敏原?

想有效地减少尘蟎致敏原,首先要减少活生生的尘蟎及尘蟎致敏原(尘蟎粪便),以及避免与尘蟎致敏原接触,由于尘蟎是依靠湿气生存,所以,将室内的湿度调低于50%,便可有效控制尘蟎。

防尘蟎套


防尘蟎套是可减少患者接触致敏原的一个有效方法,

因家居尘蟎主要居住于床褥、枕头、被单、地毯、毛公仔和梳化等地方,使用微纤维(microfiber) 的防尘蟎套,有助减少患者对尘蟎的接触。尘蟎致敏原(尘蟎粪便) 的体积直径约7 μm微米(0.007 mm),换言之,MITE PROTEX 选用的物料针孔直径约5-6 μm(微米),便可有效地阻隔尘蟎致敏原。

提醒一下,不是所有的防尘蟎套都同样有效,建议购买一些有临床试验及学术研究的防蟎产品,防尘蟎套大概每4个星期清洗一次。


对于一些不可用热力处理的物件

如公仔、玩具等,可用冷冻方法,即把物件放在摄氏零下的冰箱内储存24小时,可将尘蟎冻死,然后再用冷水洗走尘蟎的尸体和它的粪便,而干洗亦是杀死尘蟎的方法之一,但未必能够清洗已经存在的尘蟎致敏原。

羽毛枕

最后,不少人都误以为羽毛枕头较容易引起敏感。有研究发现,乳胶和其他物料所制造的枕头,造成敏感的机会比羽毛枕头多5-8倍,因羽毛枕的外层质素比较高,能较有效隔离致敏原,所以产生敏感的机会亦减低了。

设置的防蟎房间教育视频


地毯

-尘蟎的潜藏圣地


地毯是尘蟎藏匿的地方,当家居的湿度较高时,地毯所引起的问题亦会较严重,若有需要使用地毯,应尽量选用物质稀疏,使尘蟎难以潜藏。市面上有数种化学物料声称可以处理尘蟎,但到目前为止,尚没有非常有效的杀蟎物料或减少地毯尘蟎致敏原的化学物料,所以妥善的方法还是放弃使用地毯吧。


吸尘机


家居使用吸尘机十分普遍,但选购时最好装上高效率的过滤网,鉴于一般的吸尘袋出口直径大于10μm(0.01 mm),尘蟎的致敏原(0.007 mm)可透过吸尘袋的出口位置返回空气中,而高效率的过滤网可过滤1μm(0.001 mm)以下的微粒,能有效地阻隔致敏原。


尘蟎脱敏治疗


脱敏治疗对于以下过敏性状况有明显改善:

  • 过敏性鼻炎

  • 过敏性哮喘

  • 过敏性结膜炎(眼敏感)

脱敏治疗对于以下过敏性状况有改善:

  • 过敏性皮炎


愈来愈多研究证明显示,及早开始脱敏治疗能减低幼儿长大后出现哮喘的机会。脱敏治疗对于湿疹、复发性中耳炎这两种过敏症患者亦有帮助。部份患异位性皮肤炎而未有接受治疗的儿童,将来亦有可能出现哮喘。

舌下脱敏口服液内有特定份量的致敏原,有助患者体内逐渐建立免疫力。经过一段时间的免疫治疗后,当患者再接触到同类的致敏原,所产生的过敏反应会大大减弱。在其他国家,特别是欧洲,舌下免疫治疗愈来愈普遍。超过50篇安慰剂对照临床研究文献已在期刊发表。

舌下脱敏液只需每日服用一次,患者可以安在家中服药,无需定时到诊所覆诊。